The region » Porto-Vecchio and its region
The citadel of Porto-Vecchio
It's a vast vast porphyry rock roses that senators of Genoa in 1539 proposed to the Office of San Giorgio, wealthy Genoese bank, to raise a fortress for the development of the plain and export of food to their own city.
Thus was born the Citadel of Porto-Vecchio. Despite a wide gulf and a fertile hinterland, the place is nevertheless a very strong area of malaria and a real nest of Barbary pirates.
From 1540 to 1589, the citadel was destroyed and rebuilt three times. The Republic of Genoa finally gave the island to France in 1768.
A year later, the troops of King Louis XV took possession of the "Bastion de France" and renamed and settled on a fortified area of 3 hectares.
To discover when visiting history: the five bastions with the bastion of France, Genoese walls and door, but instead Ettori, Bel Ombra, San Ghjuvanni Battistu church and chapel Santa Cruci.
The tourist office offers year round guided tours of the castle accompanied by our guide regional or using mp3 audio guides.
translated by Google Translate